The health benefits of physical exercise are well-known. Despites this, a lot of people do not exrcise regularly. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to encourage them to exercise more often?

In order to stay healthy, exercise regularly is a must. However, a majority of the population nowadays spend less time on physical activities. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of why people don’t do physical exercise and how to alleviate that. There are several reasons that people often do not put exercise as their priority. Firstly, people, especially unskilled workers like security guards and customer service agents, have long working hours. In Hong Kong, for example, these workers need to work at least 12 hours a day six days a week. Therefore, after a long week, what they want to do is get rested, but not working out. Besides, people are too focused on making profits. Some think that one's standard of life can be improved only by making money. Indeed, some might have a full- time job during the daytime and have a part- time job, such as Uber driver and Food delivery, at night. As a result, there is no time for physical training again. Although money is important, in my opinion, without a healthy body, money is nothing. In order to tackle this problem, there are a few things that companies and governments can do. First of all, the government should make policies to regulate labourers' working hours. Recently, the Singapore government has proposed a four-day working week to ensure their citizens can be work-life balanced. There are similar regulations have been enforced in some European countries a long time ago. This way even unskilled labourers can have time for rest and leisure. Moreover, it is important for companies to value their employees' health because businesses can grow only if they have healthy workers working for them. Therefore, employees should encourage their workers to do more physical activities. They may do that by providing a gym area for their employees and giving them workout time, perhaps 30 minutes, throughout the long working day. Then, everyone will have time to exercise without sacrificing their valuable hours after a tiring day; thus, research shows that one's productivity can be increased after working out. In conclusion, people put their health at risk because working occupies their life. In order to solve this problem, governments and companies should cooperate to create more time, whereas the governments regulate and reduce long working hours and businesses provide time and space for their staff to exercise at work.