One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Food shortage has been considered one of the significant problems that the world is encountering these days. However, the optimum solution to this issue is the introduction of genetically modified foods. I completely agree with this statement because it reduces the usage of water and has more nutrients. Genetically modified food does not require a large amount of food and water. This type of food can allow other natural plants and livestock to grow in better conditions, which leads to providing adequate food resources for the future generation. A recent study made by Oxford University found that if 50% of the world population only consumed genetically modified food, food quantities would be abundant for the next 100 years. It, therefore, has been regarded as an effective solution to tackle the inadequate provision of food. Furthermore, it provides a vital intake of nutrients. Natural food does not sometimes have enough supplies of vitamins, which makes genetically modified food a valuable source to compensate for the nutrition deficiency. For instance, a modified apple has a rich amount of vitamin B, while the actual apple does not have this type of vitamin. It would certainly help the human to establish a new stream of food resources. In conclusion, the world faces difficulty overcoming the food shortage, but the solution to this problem is producing more genetically modified food. This solution contributes significantly to saving more water and food, which is used for taking care of living things. Also, it supplies people with the foremost of nutrients that increase their well-being.