Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulty getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

It is widely known that sleep is essential for overall well-being. With hectic lifestyles and stressful jobs, it is increasingly being seen that people are sleeping less. This essay will discuss the effects of lack of sleep and highlight remedial steps to address them. Not sleeping enough leads to a host of detrimental issues for people. Firstly, it leads to a negative result in health. For example, medical research has shown that not getting enough rest in the night leads to increased Cortisol hormone, a phenomenon that is directly linked to increased blood pressure and diabetes. Additionally, people who sleep less are tired the next day and are not able to perform effectively on their jobs. They find it difficult to focus clearly on their tasks which can lead to mistakes and low performance, in turn affecting their career. This is evidenced in numerous workplace-related incidents that were caused by a stressed and tired employee. These events only go to show how important a good night’s rest is for everyone. However, the above-mentioned issues can be easily addressed if people make a conscious effort to sleep more and sleep better. Regular exercise and a good diet have been widely shown to affect a person’s resting abilities positively. Exercises such as Yoga and Meditation are particularly helpful in relaxing the mind and body and help reduce stress. Furthermore, working-people should also plan their week in advance so that they feel less pressured and attain a sense of contentment by finishing their tasks on time, leading to a calm body and mind. In conclusion, sleep deficiency can lead to numerous problems such as poor health and sub-par work performance. However, these issues are easy to fix if people make getting enough exercise and eating healthy food their priority. Moreover, thinking upfront on how they can manage their workload will lead to a night of better sleep and general well-being.