It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages

It has become more and more popular for students to take a year off between finishing school before enrolling into colleges in recent years. The advantage of this is saving money, while the disadvantage is reduced motivation. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, the benefits of observing a year off. University courses are generally costly. After completing school, teenagers tend to start working early to save money by taking a year off. Using this to pay for their accommodation, university tuition fees and other expenses; rather than struggling financially, being wholly dependent on their parents or searching for a part-time job above their academic work. For instance, in the USA, an average undergraduate student requires a minimum of 10000 dollars per year for college in total. Many drop out because they cannot afford it. On the other hand, despite having the advantages of observing a gap year, there are also disadvantages. The main disadvantage is that working teens become financially independent, hence they do not want to rejoin their studies. They prefer to continue working in jobs that are below their capabilities by bypassing university. This short term view of getting a job straight away and neglecting tertiary education, will not offer them the same prospects their future careers could have. For instance, 25% of British students never go beyond high school following a gap year. In conclusion, the essay has discussed the advantages and disadvantages. Although they save money to pursue higher studies by working, at the same time they should be careful not to forgo their education altogether.