Some people believe that governments should legalize the use of torture in extreme cases, such as terrorism or national security threats. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that the authorities should regulate rules to use torment so as to punish criminals in their nations and ensure the security of the citizens. The writer is convinced by this assumption because of a strict punishment to threaten the criminals and a model for all normal residents to follow. Initially, it must be understood that using torture might make people commit an offence scared about this punishment. To explain in more detail, criminals have to deal with a huge amount of violence and aggressive behaviours each day. To a certain extent, the criminals have been obsessed with these punishments and they do not make the same mistakes in the future, instead, they concentrate on becoming law-abiding people and rehabilitating the society. For this reason, people with extreme mistakes are disciplined to become good citizens and finally how to control their impulsions. However, many believe that torture can bring several detrimental effects on the mental health of criminals. This is because torture involves physical and psychological trauma, leading to long-lasting mental damage in the victim. This point may be valid, but torment methods must be used to threaten the citizens to not commit an offence. Due to the fact that, no one wants to become a prisoner facing numerous strict punishments, especially torture. Indeed, the citizens will obey the regulations from the government, resulting in a law society which is safer for the whole community. Consider North Korea as a prime example, where the government imposes numerous strict rules in most fields of life, therefore, citizens always follow the law system and the crime rate in this nation has been witnessed at least in the globe. In conclusion, the government should use torment in some cases with the purpose of forcing criminals to change their behaviour and threatening the residents not to break the law. Hence, it has been shown that the government might consider carefully before using torment to ensure the safety of society.