Most countries want to improve standard of living through industrial development but social values are lost as a result. Do you believe that advantages of economic development outweigh the drawbacks?

Improving the standard of living is one of the pivotal targets for many nations. Most of them plan to achieve this by depending on industrial aspects which could negatively affect these countries’ social values. Although this approach has some drawbacks, I hold the notion that its merits would eclipse its negatives. To begin with, losing citizens’ identities would be the main demerit of this strategy, as this approach mainly depends on a nation’s people as they are its workforce who would achieve its economic progress by utilizing their effort and time. This is mentioned in an economic study, published in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) periodical, issue 1102, in May 2018, which emphasized the fact that the average of working hours should be around 45 hours per week for every employee to accomplish economic prosperity. As this shows, the likelihood would be a significant negative impact on family time and this would reflect on their gathering habits which instil most social tradition, by decreasing of these meetings many values would be lost. On the other hand, I suppose the benefits of confirming industrial development as the main approach to boosting living standards would exceed the aforementioned disadvantages, as the academic development of a country’s youngsters would be a prominent merit. Germany, for instance, offers high quality education for its people to maintain their academic level to meet their target of being a significant industrial country. This example makes it clear that enhancing individuals’ academic qualifications is a considerable condition to achieving industrial prosperity. Hence, if countries would confirm i ndustrial strategy to sustain their prosperity, this would probably boost their people's qualifications. Moreover, developing the economy of a country by depending on i ndustry may enhance the country’s domination and its influence. As the United States of America play an influential role in most global decisions, this emphasizes the fact that Capitalism possibly benefits countries by making their influence more significant. This likely boosts countries’ benefits. In conclusion, despite the existence of some demerits from enhancing a nation’s standard of living through industrial development, I am of the opinion that the positives of this strategy eclipse their disadvantages as improving people’s education and their country domination would be more fruitful.