Packing(plastic wrappers, cartons, etc.) is the main cause of littering in public places. Why this happens? What should be done to solve this problem.

It has been pointed out that the majority of rubbish in public areas is product packaging, such as boxes or plastic wrappers. Personally, I opine that excessive packaging is the reason for this situation, and the authorities should tackle this disgraceful circumstance. First of all, the overuse of packing is the most significant contributor to littering in public places. This is because people are living in a globalised and materialistic world with a wide range of products that can be chosen from. If companies want to sell their items, they have to make their products more attractive, which forces them to put more layers on their outer packaging in order to stand out, leading to an increase in the amount of waste. For instance, a vast majority of owners running fast food restaurants state that due to the limited economic opportunities and excessive supplies in the service sector, they have to wrap their chips and burgers with unnecessary papers to attract consumers to buy, which leads to more waste in shopping centres or parks. Furthermore, governments have the responsibility to solve this social issue. The reason is that the government has the right to introduce legislation or laws to regulate companies or manufacturers and can launch educational programmes and campaigns to persuade ordinary people to purchase goods with less packaging, which will reduce the overpackaging problem, thus promoting a clean environment with less rubbish in every public area. As an illustration, in China, individuals always bought cakes with multiple layers of packaging in the 1990s, as they thought only these types of desserts had good quality and taste, which caused a great deal of littering. In order to deal with this social issue, policymakers brought in a new rule which restricted factories from using more than one box or plastic bag to wrap cakes or bread, which resulted in a drop in rubbish. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions about the reasons why packaging is the main waste in public places and how to deal with this issue, I am of the opinion that excessive packaging causes this dreadful trend, and politicians ought to take action to address the problem.