Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

While it is believed that character traits can not be altered as they are predecided as an outcome of ones' DNA, prior to their birth, I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, we will discuss certain factors that can persuade an individual to recreate their nature. Firstly, professional as well as business needs are one of the most substantial motivators to encourage a person to change. As an adult, people these days tend to self-evaluate themselves to understand their strength and weaknesses and have accordingly started to inculcate practices that can help them improve their shortcomings. At several organizations, we can see that the employs at the managerial positions have to undergo various training programs which are meant to develop the characteristics of a great leader in them. Secondly, the urge to become a better person for our loved ones is another reason that can push them to transform. There are a lot of personal habits that are sometimes unliked by people we live with and they want us to try and eliminate those. One of my close friends was very talkative and funny in nature before her marriage but now when we meet her, she seems to be a person who is very reserve and sensitive. Therefore, I certainly believe that people do change for their loved ones. To conclude, personal as well as professional demands are two key factors that can make an individual recreate its personality characteristics and therefore I disagree with the opinion that since a person's nature is a result of its DNA, they cannot be altered.