Museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries are treasure holders of history and culture. Nowadays, whether museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world has attracted numerous controversies. In my opinion, Museums and art galleries should majorly focus on works of history and culture of their own country. First and foremost, if the country itself does not focus on its own history and culture, it will become extinct. Also, to draw the attention of the new and the younger generation, it is important for them to witness the portrayal of their culture and history in museums and galleries. It should be also taken into account that students tend to have a strong visual memory. It becomes easy for them to remember information when they actually see rather than just studying from the textbooks. Those who argue that museums and art galleries should focus on history and culture of other parts of the world hold a different view. Firstly, they argue that the history of their own county will be anyways own by the people. What one will not know is the history and traditions of other countries. One should know world history too. Secondly, they say that if our county does not show the history and culture of other parts of the world, the other countries will also eliminate their work of culture and history. Also, not everyone can travel globally and experience culture abroad. They should be given an opportunity to experience the same at the museums. Although there are strong arguments on both sides, in conclusion, I would agree that museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country to keep them alive and save them from extinction.