Government should spend more money on medical research and less on researching the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people nowadays believe that the state should spend less funds on researching the environment and more on medical research. This essay disagrees with this statement because studying different aspects of environment could help prevent and find cures for different varieties of diseases. To begin with, it is noticeable that by improving the environment, the effects of many diseases would be less destructive and some of them could be prevented before going viral. For example, one of the main reasons for lung cancer this days is air pollution which is caused by jungles getting wiped out by natural and human causes. Furthermore, many governments have tried to put a stop to this by researching how to revive the lost jungles with the help of environment scientists. Nonetheless, this important act showed its result with the number of lung cancer patients getting lower within 5 years. Moreover, the other worth mentioning reason is that many of the elements needed for medical research can be found in the environment around us. Nevertheless, these elements would be needed to find a cure for many illnesses such as the bird flu. For instance, 5 decades ago this flu was a major problem in all countries however, a group of researchers along with help from the British government,figured out that this sickness could be cured with a vaccine made out of a very rare bacteria which could be found in some specific rain forests. Because of this, the bird flu is now cured. In conclusion, the outcome of spending both money and time on environment is unquestionably worth it.