Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The use of computers and recent technologies is widespread in our society. Thus, some people believe that skills such as handwriting is not necessary to be learned by children anymore. I completely disagree with this idea and this essay will present arguments to support my opinion. First, I believe handwriting is a basic skill which everyone should know. In fact, this is one of the first steps in our learning process at the school. Although the use of computer and associated technologies are becoming common, even among children, there is no logical reason to not teach handwriting. I cannot imagine, for instance, a child who is not able to write his own name. Considering the importance of this basic skill and not seeing a clear purpose in not teaching it, I maintain as a advocate of such significant learning phase which handwriting is. Second, handwriting is still a useful skill in numerous activities. For example, some of the main universities have admission tests in a paper-based format, therefore, handwriting is mandatory. There are also some jobs that require a clear handwriting, such as teacher and writer. This is because these kinds of activities cannot be completely done in digital format, so handwriting still remains a required skill. To sum up, although there are some people who believe teaching handwriting to children is not necessary nowadays, I think this is a valuable skill and schools should keep teaching it. Considering this new technologycal trend, may schools can teach both handwriting and typing to children.