Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothing and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only thinks about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Children nowadays are encouraged to make their own decisions on daily matters, from tiny tasks like entertainment to essential matters which is food and clothing. However, some people argue that this might result in children having a mindset of only thinking about themselves while others believe that it is a great chance for children to learn making decisions on matters that affect them. In my opinion, I agree that children should make their own choices daily. The following essay will discuss both of the views and conclude by restating my own opinion. To begin with, teenagers and young adults might be affected devastatingly on their interpersonal skills which might destroy the regular system of the society. Kids who are trained to manage every task daily will potentially make others to follow their own way as they study and work with their peers. Consequently, it affects not the only relationship with their classmates and friends, but also with their family. For example, they might make arguments with colleagues who oppose their decisions. In addition to this, it is likely to result in some mental health issues when things are not getting in the way they wish to be. On the other hand, teenagers are able to develop important skills for their careers through the practices of making decisions. For instance, children are known to be more independent than those who rely on decisions that are made by parents. As a result, skills such as time and financial management, organizational skills could be developed as they have grown up and hence. Moreover, it is vital for children to acknowledge the consequences and results after making a choice as the reality might not always meet their expectations towards it. Once they have learnt the lessons from their experiences, they can become more successful competitors compared to other children. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of teaching youngsters to manage their own matters. Nonetheless, I believe kids could develop their own potentials through these practices at earlier ages if parents educate in a proper way. It is always a beneficial experience for teenagers to learn doing their own decisions since they are small.