Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social media has revolutionised the world. However, part of the population believes that these online platforms have hugely impacted people in a negative way. In this essay, I will discuss why agree with them as individuals are becoming addicted and fake news is easily shared online. Firstly, although social online networks have undoubtedly advanced humans communication, there are many damaging factors that impact users. This is due to the fact that, nowadays, people are becoming more addicted to social media such as Instagram, TikTok and Facebook due to dopamine release effects in their brains. This means that they can easily spend hours scrolling videos and posts on their phones instead of completing vital tasks like household chores or having conversations in person with their families. Furthermore, recent research published by APA (American Psychologist Association) showed that social media addiction can lead to serious anxiety and depression. Thus, social online websites can negatively impact people’s lives. Social network websites usually provide much information from diverse sources. Online messages can rapidly spread data to a broad audience. However not all data posted online is accurate, so a new culture of fake news has been growing during the last recent years. In Brazil, for instance, after a big political incident where a lot of lies were spread about authorities, a special official department was created to investigate false material shared online through these kinds of online websites and apps. It is clear, in my opinion, that social media can be damaging to both society and individuals. In conclusion, this essay argues that social online networking sites can negatively affect people in individual and societal contexts. I strongly agree as it can be addictive affecting people’s mental health and also because it is easy to share false messages on these platforms.