Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as major environmental problems of our time, especially in the past few decades. Although there is substantial debate over whether the extension of some species of plants and animals is a major environmental problem or there are more serious environmental problems in our time, I am of the opinion that former proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. A number of benefits can be attributed to different species of animals and plants in our environment, which play a very important role in our lives. On the one hand, pollution and overpopulation not only damaging our quality of life but also killing many species of animals and plants. On the other, an extension of animals and flora can cause severe damage to the ecosystem which will destroy the balance of life. Animals and plants are dependent on each other for their survival, damage to the ecosystem will break the cycle of life and can bring catastrophic disasters which can affect the entire human race. Examples of this scenario can be seen in different stages of human history, an extension of sparrows caused a severe drought in China which lead to the death of millions. Admittedly, it is true that there are other environmental problems like water and air pollution, seriously effecting human life and one cannot dismiss the damage associated with these problems. However, the problems caused by the extension of flora and fauna appear to be insignificant against the deluge of the problems triggered by environmental issues. The impact of the problems such as air pollution or water pollution, is direct and quick on human life which is the reason people think these are the major environmental problems, but the impact of damage to the ecosystem is slow and sever. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding other environmental issues. Nevertheless, I feel that effects related extension of particular plant and animal is far too great to ignore.