Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The idea of certain types of subjects should be made mandatory for tertiary students remains controversial. Personally, I think students should be given the rights to choose whatever they want to study rather than being forced. There are various reasons why people believe that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. They may assert that university courses like medicine, engineering and information technology are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these courses PROVIDE MORE JOB OPPORTUNITIES, CAREER PROGRESSION, BETTER SALARIES, and therefore AN IMPROVED QUALITY OF LIFE for students who take them. On the societal level, by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, governments can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the economy are covered. Finally, a focus on technology in HIGHER EDUCATION could LEAD TO NEW INVENTIONS, ECONOMIC GROWTH, and GREATER FUTURE PROSPERITY. In spite of these arguments, I believe that university students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. In my opinion, society will benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning. Besides, nobody can really predict which AREAS OF KNOWLEDGE will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to VALUE CREATIVE THINKING SKILLS above practical or technical skills. IF THIS WERE THE CASE, perhaps we would need more students of art, history and philosophy than of science or technology. In conclusion, although IT MIGHT SEEM SENSIBLE FOR universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.