Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is an ongoing debate among the people around the issue of whether university education should be on-campus or through online classes. Offering university courses via the internet has many benefits for aspiring students, and I believe that this certainly is a positive progression in the education sector. There is a deluge of arguments that can be made in favour of online education. Firstly, it provides the students with the flexibility to attend the classes remotely, while avoiding the travel to the university campus. For example, if a student attends classes online, he can save approximately 4-5 hours of commute in a week. As a result, this time can be better utilised by the student in improving the learning outcome of his courses. Besides, the current pandemic has clearly necessitated the universities to offer online classes so that the student's education does not get hampered. For instance, if the universities had not offered online education, lakhs of students across the world would have lost almost one precious year of their life due to the current pandemic. Therefore, studying online is not only beneficial for those who seek flexibility, but also, it has become the need of the hour in recent times. On the other hand, some people assert that studying on-campus enables the students to be more focused and committed towards their education. For example, those studying medicine or nursing. Nevertheless, I believe, there should be some option for those students who are dedicated and self-committed to study. In conclusion, based on the discourse above, it is predicted that the universities which offer options for students to study via the internet are definitely progressing in the right direction.