Some environmentalists have advocated building wildlife sanctuaries to protect endangered species. Discuss the Advantages and disadvantages of doing this.

There is a view among eco-activists that due to the endangerment of animals there is a need to construct new wildlife sanctuaries to safeguard the fauna. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks as a result of this approach. To begin with the positives, a significant advantage that wildlife reserve parks have is that they can protect animals that are in danger of extinction. This is achieved by implementing restrictions for humans in specific areas of the forest. For instance, the wildlife park "Vedanthangal" is a haven for various species of birds and animals. Furthermore, the other main factors causing hazards to this fauna are deforestation and hunting. These issues can be mitigated by bringing about hefty fines and jail time to the concerned individuals or group trespassing on these zones. Nevertheless, constructing these parks does present some problems, the most obvious being the challenges faced in maintaining these refuge areas. This is because maintenance requires a lot of finance which is funded by the government and other eco-friendly donations. The shortage of funds can lead to improper management and consequently compromising the safety of the inhabitants. A second factor is that, these parks are generally open for tourists to explore by means of paid Safaris, which can compromise the safety of the animals as well as the explorers. This is because people tend to feed the animals which can increase the chances of accidental poisoning. In conclusion, despite the benefits such as protection and mitigation of deforestation that sanctuaries can offer, it is important to consider that they can also harm the animals they are meant to preserve.