Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, thanks to numerous technological advancements, many academic establishments have been offering digital courses as an alternative to conventional classes at school. From my perspective, this is primarily a positive phenomenon despite some drawbacks. On the one hand, what should be carefully considered is the efficiency of digital courses. If students enrol in online lectures at open places such as coffee shops, they will be easily distracted by extrinsic factors. Hence, they might not fully comprehend these lectures. Moreover, some soft skills, such as communication skills or teamwork, might be best trained and practised in person. Therefore, when they do not attend physical classes, such skills do not seem to be effectively enhanced. Eventually, virtual courses might be potentially detrimental to learning efficiency. On the other hand, online courses are beneficial for both learners and universities. First and foremost, students can effortlessly access reading references and online lectures with electronic devices connected to the Internet. Hence, they can actively schedule their timetable and learn wherever they wish; for instance, some might want to study at a coworking space which can foster their creativity. Additionally, universities could also optimize their operation cost by curtailing the budgets used for basic commodities served on campus. Expenditures on electricity or water could be taken as prime examples. Ultimately, digital studying programs are likely to facilitate enrollment in higher education among students and optimize budgets for education systems. In conclusion, virtual study is an inevitable trend in today’s world, especially with the boom of advanced technologies. Regardless of some minus points, I do advocate that it can be deemed largely positive regarding how it encourages studying attendance and allows universities to implant optimization schemes.