At schools, students should only be taught academic knowledge to pass the exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that teachers should only teach courses related to the syllabus to help children to do well in their final tests, however, others think that additional activities including dress designing, cooking and artefacts are some of the skills which could be taught well at home by parents and co-mates. In my perspective, such extra skills could be made a part of the extra syllabus activities of students along with the academic studies. Thereby, this essay will outline the importance along with the reasons saying how crucial it is to have multiple skills in one's life. To begin with, no doubt educational subjects are mandatory to pass the institutions, but there is a myriad of children who do not have much interest in academics and opt for additional activities such as comedy, acting, dancing, sports and many more and also cherish their free time tasks as their profession in the long run. Having such projects bring self-awareness to children which helps them to realize their interest at a very early age. In other words, most of the artists and actors in their interviews have been noticed saying that they have chosen acting as a profession because they developed it through own conscious while performing in school or college functions and programs. therefore, having such courses in extra curriculum makes students mindful, cognitive and develops more potential in them. Nevertheless, as children already have a huge load of academic subjects; they barely get a chance to spend time with family and friends and having some more tasks to perform would pose a huge mental pressure on them which could result into depression, anxiety and several other mental disorders in the long run. This could be a reason which makes parents worried about putting immense pressure by adding such skills in the secondary syllabus. However, it could be resolved with the joint effort and support of family and teachers. Mentors could provide further attention towards the learners who are lagging behind in certain activities and parents could support children by encouraging and giving them a chance to acknowledge their field of interest. To recapitulate, although institutional courses are obligatory to pass the exams, but, extra syllabus skills are also imperative as it could open several other paths of success for children if they are not willing to pursue further with their academic education. Hence, the advantages of having the secondary curriculum overweigh the reasons for focusing only on the educational syllabus.