Some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events. Do you think it is positive or negative development?

Homo sapiens are social animals, who want to be part of the community and cannot live saturated from society. For meeting this social recognition need, some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events. I too favour the participation of people in these events and therefore will further elucidate it with apposite examples. Firstly, participation in sporting or cultural events benefits mental health. Such human involvement helps in secreting serotonin, dopamine which is also called as happy hormones, that ultimately makes individual happy, optimistic, relaxed and also aids in reducing depression and stress. According to the recent report that I read in ‘Health Digest’ magazine, it stated that one- third of the world’s population suffer from mental issues. To sum up, spending money on tickets to social events is better than spending the alary on buying anti-depression medicine or visiting a psychiatrist. Not only this, wealth spent on such events supports employment directly or indirectly to millions of people. It motivates the organizers, participants of these social events and even future players to pursue their interest and consider it as their future career. Along with that, these events encourage people especially children to develop an interest in various sports activities and may choose it as their career. International tennis player representing India, Sania Mirza chose to play tennis at age 6 after seeing a tennis match in a national tournament. However, there are certain cons attached to the above statement that not everyone likes to be part of social events. Some prefer to spend time in isolated places or watching these events on television. While, you may argue that, the salary spent on these events, instead, should be diverted in productive areas such as investment that will give some return in the end. In conclusion, I pen down stating my full support for spending money on tickets to go to these public events as it brings a sense of unity within the community and also promotes and inspires people who are engaged in these events. Therefore, cash spent on such events should not be considered as waste, instead, should be considered as an investment in our health and community whose return cannot be clearly seen but felt.