Reading a book is better than spending time on computers or TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the majority of people spends more time watching TV or surfing on the web rather than reading books. In my opinion, reading books is better for personal development than spending time on computers or TV and people should try to do it on a regular basis. This essay will present arguments to support my thought. According to some researches, the number of hours people spend watching TV and using computers has increased, while, at the same time, the number of hours of reading has decreased. Although this is a clear trend, I believe people should try to read regularly. First, reading provides us with some acknowledgements that surfing on the web or watching Tv do not. For example, when I was young I used to have some books to help me during homework and I have learnt a lot from them. Unfortunately, nowadays children and adults search for everything on google and, as a result, they are not interested in learning other contents rather than finishing their activities. Second, books are a reliable resource in order to improve both writing and speaking skills. To illustrate, there is some evidence confirming that people who read are better writers and speakers. Finally, I believe books can be equally entertaining as Tv and computers are, therefore, while you read you can have fun and improve some important skills at the same time. To sum up, I believe people should try to spend more time reading and less time watching tv or surfing on the web. Not only can books improve some important skills, but also they can provide some entertainment.