In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In various nations around the world, many people advocate taking a gap year to work or travel before beginning one’s tertiary education. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages worth considering. This essay will firstly, discuss some benefits of taking a year gap and secondly, few drawbacks will be examined. There are two main benefits to students travelling or working before their university education. One of them is, through travelling, they will be able to expand their horizons. When students go overseas, they will be exposed to different cultures and customs. As a result, they gain a deeper understanding of the world. In addition, students who work will learn to appreciate the value of money. This is because they realize the hard work involved in earning money. Consequently, they would think more before purchasing anything they desire and may become less impulsive in their spending. On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, travelling could cause people to feel homesick. Many students have not been apart from their family and friends before so when they travel, they may miss these people. In extreme circumstances, students may even become depressed. Additionally, students who work may not want to return to their studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning a wage and becoming financially independent. Therefore, their whole future can be negatively affected as these days it is very important to graduate with a degree to be competitive in the job market. In conclusion, if the student takes a gap year, they could gain valuable experience and learn to become more independent in relation to finance. However, they may also become homesick and end up not continuing their studies. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits against the drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether students should go on such an adventure.