School teachers are more responsible for social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that educators have a greater responsibility in developing students’ cognitive and social skills compared to parents. I absolutely agree with this statement, as teachers are well-trained to teach formal lessons. Aside from that, school is the best place for children to socialize and make more friends. Firstly, it is a known fact that parents play a vital role in the upbringing of their offspring. Nevertheless, educating them at home alone does not always mean leading them to a bright future. For this reason, it is extremely important that children have to be given a formal education. This is when the roles of school teachers come into play. Apart from providing an encouraging learning environment, most schools constantly update their faculty with the latest methods of teaching through seminars and training. This approach has been practised in order to ensure that students can cope with technological advancements. Furthermore, practical exercises and laboratory experiments, under the guidance of teachers, significantly help increase their problem-solving, logical thinking, and reasoning abilities. Secondly, with regard to the social aspect, it is also at school that youngsters learn to interact with peers. Apart from their daily classroom interactions, various extracurricular activities are planned and executed for them, depending on their interests. For instance, sports events and other activities are organised. These events enhance leadership skills and teamwork, that may not be acquired at home alone. I strongly believe, therefore, that when it comes to honing the overall academic and social capabilities of the youth, teachers have a more crucial role to play than parents, which is because they are professionally trained to do so.