Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

In an attempt to keep a leash on committing heinous crimes, i mposition of capital penalty is advocated by several individuals; other, however opine that such a penalty is intolerable in the modern society. In this essay, I will discuss both arguments and explain my support to the former view. The death penalty can be considered abominable sanction for several reasons. Firstly, the strongest argument is that, it strips off one of the most rudimentary rights of any human- the right to live. Irrespective of the gravity of the crime committed, no one can infringe this right as it is a universal consensus. Besides, the provision of correct justice seldom happened. There are worldwide cases of imposed death sentence over an unproven or mistrialed mistreated criminality. Secondly, science experts believe that vicious crimes are only committed by those with deranged mentality. According to what was shown on a documentary film made by a group of experts, offenders of vicious crimes are proven to have a sudden surge of neurotransmitters which is of unknown aetiology. This phenomenon is fully absent to those criminals convicted with petty malfeasance, As such, it is suggested to treat these felons as a psychiatric patient rather than a criminal on the death warrant waiting list. However, I strongly believe the name of societal safety and security, government-sanctioned killing is necessary to deter criminal minds from even plotting life-threatening offences such as terrorism, war crimes genocide or sexual misconducts. In other words, to save innocent lives against life-threatening occurrences, taking away life from an unworthy criminal seemed a fair punishment. For instance, the U.A.E and Saudi Arabia scored the lowest in criminality rating due to the entwined capital punishment imposed on every grave misdemeanour. This thwarts felony from pursuing wrongful deeds due to unforgiving law concomitant with it. Secondly, this judicial penalty would save the government from allocating taxpayers money into the resources of unworthy prisoners. Hence, money would be, instead use in other areas for national upliftment. To recapitulate, the death penalty has its own advantages and disadvantages however, in my view, it has to be implemented to keep the decorum of the society in shape and maintained.