Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing , should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishmentDiscuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate surrounding the fixed punishment and flexible punishment has garnered varied opinions. Some individuals assert that a fixed punishment should be implemented to insure the fairness of society. Conversely, others maintain the legislation system should be flexible to take different factors into account. From my perspective, I favour the latter view. There is no denying that a rigid and fixed judicial system contributes to a righteous and fair society. Many people fear that the various punishments for one type of crime lead to chaotic social order. For example, a drunk driver caused a severe car accident which injured some people. However, it was discovered that he was rushing to take his father, who had suffered a stroke, to the hospital. It was unfair to reduce the punishment solely based on his motivation, as he still caused significant pain and suffering to those who were hit by his car. Therefore, it is understandable that people support a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Nevertheless, I believe that in some exceptional situations, a flexible punishment can be applied if the individuals breaking the law did not harm others and have intention to harm others. On one hand, the aim of flexible punishment is to offer people more compassionate and empathetic treatment in certain circumstances. For example, consider a first-time offender who stole some milk from a supermarket to feed his child due to financial hardship. Applying a rigid punishment in such cases can not address the root cause of the behavior but put the poor in a more difficult position. In addition, the judicial system never meets the perfection for each situation. This is because there are some factors that should be considered in every situation. For example, the education levels vary in different regions, leading to a population with varying levels of legal literacy. Given this situation, flexible punishment should be considered to better encourage people to behave well in the future. In conclusion, if the law-breakers did not cause severe consequences, the judicial department should understand the motivations and circumstances of the crime before implementing punishments and adjust them when necessary.