It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views.

Capital punishment is considered by many people to be the best method of reducing the horrific crimes in society while others believe that life prison is a much better way for it. Firstly, this essay will discuss the positive aspects of the death penalty law in curbing the crime rate and secondly, we will examine why a lifelong sanction encourages some to exclude the first one. To begin with, judicial execution is a law that deters the horrible crimes by implementing a sense of fear in the criminals. To further explain, every person is afraid of dying and likewise,criminals are also fearful of getting hanged for any serious wrongdoing such as rape or murder, therefore, offenders hesitate in getting involved in such crimes which can have the execution as a punishment. For instance, in Saudi Arabia rape is a serious offence and if anyone is caught committing this crime, the ultimate punishment is death, thus the rape cases in the country are almost negligible. Moreover, punishing a murderer or rapist with a judicial murder heals the family of a victim. In contrast to this, few people advocate that life sentence is a better way of dealing with the criminals involved in heinous offences because taking a human life is against the act of humanity. To elaborate, hanging or poisoning a criminal is considered as a scar on the constitutional system as it is counted as human rights violation by various organizations while keeping them behind the bars for a lifetime is favoured. For example, there has been an outrage that many innocent people have been convicted in crimes which later turned into a false conviction, thereby it can be emphasized that life sentence is considerably a better option for protecting society from crimes, at the meantime respecting the human rights. To conclude, although there are various positive aspects of legalized killing in terms of diminishing the horrible crimes and spreading a sense of fear in outlaws, there are many other good reasons for opting a life sentence forfeiture as it confines the criminal to jails also follows the human rights guidelines.