In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that nowadays it is common that parents permit their children to have a short break by travelling to other countries before starting their university studies. This essay will discuss both advantages and drawbacks of this modern trend. To begin with, I personally accept the insight that young people should spare some time in order to develop their worldwide view and have a productive time by themselves. In other words, teenagers may benefit from short therapeutic breaks as well. However, I also insist that they should be undertaken by their parents, so there should be someone who will able to care about their safety in a foreign country. Furthermore, if the future teen student decides to travel alone, they should be aware of rules and be able to guard themselves. Otherwise, they are in a great risk to lose their control if not to make any trouble. On the other hand, some teenagers, who try to maintain their own life without their parents support, may not only cause some unpredictable consequences but also lose their parents' faith in them. In a result, parents may reject to finance the education fees or care about their own child. Consequently, it is not surprising that in some countries in Europe parents give freedom to their children after they turn 18 in order to give a chance to become independent. I personally consider this method of bringing up children not applicable. In addition, excessive permissiveness may spoil the children. Moreover, future students may have a change of heart and not apply for higher qualification in university. To conclude, Although it is great when future students are offered to have a temporary holiday between their studies they should be monitored by their parents.