Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

Since the advent of social media applications, the world has become a much smaller place.The platforms such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram have been used as a great source of advertisements by major firms to sell their products. With this notion, I strongly advocate that these digital websites massively influence consumers. The studies conducted by Oxford University in the UK will prove this. Firstly, as a social media user, you will be bombarded with a plethora of adverts of varied consumables.These adverts are not just random, rather they are specifically related to your recent search on the internet. For instance, a recent study by Oxford University states that almost 60 per cent of the sale of a particular brand of shoes has hiked due to the attractive adverts and discounts given on Facebook. Therefore, it is evident that marketing through online has a tremendous impact on customers. Furthermore, the habit of sharing, retweeting and liking a post ensures that these adverts reach you. So even before the popups appear on your screen, you could have actually almost seen it on your friend's page. Thus by seeing the same advert multiple times, you tend to buy the product at least once. Also,the items reach the end-users at their doorsteps with absolutely no charge and the return policies are also favourable.In sum, selling various products over websites make consumers happy to shop and thereby it obviously modifies their mindset. To conclude, the truth is, these adverts are a form of information and with the era of technology, the message spreads faster than a wildfire. Therefore, it makes sense that in this modern world with globalisation and the need to be trendy,social media marketing has influenced consumers greatly on what they buy.