In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

With the increase of violence and other dangers, some cities in the United States had decided to not allow their underage population to be outside at late hours without any supervision of an adult. Although curfews might harm the freedom for those people, I tend to agree with this solution. For one, being by themselves or without a responsible person can expose them to danger, because young people and children tend to be more vulnerable than larger groups, such as families, even more with no trustworthy companions. For instance, people with suspicious interests might try robber or threat them if they are defenceless and can not reach help in time. Secondly, children and adolescents are in a period of life when it is important to have discipline. One reason to avoid let them dive into the night is that they need to have their sleep and rest guarded for a good performance at school. Moreover, they can easily lose track of time, arrive too late, wake-up too tired and skip classes. Lastly, the nightlife is not suitable for young people. Therefore, it can stimulate them to attend to unrecommended places for their age. For example, bars and casinos use to be open until late of night. If there would be no fiscalization, adolescents could soon grow interested in alcohol and gambling. To sum up, limit the hours for teenagers might sound prohibited and too harsh on their freedom, but it only comes as a way to protect them until they are older enough to be responsible of themselves.