Some children nowadays take sports seriously while others play sports in their free time. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that kids are considering sports both as an intense and recreational activity. While taking sports seriously seems to be nice, I believe that playing sports in leisure time might have its own merits. On the one hand, sports activities, in a serious way, tend to be beneficial because they maintain physical and mental health. To begin with, exercising regularly would improve the sportsmen's physical health to a higher level and help them build up strong muscles. Furthermore, it will help sportsmen have fewer mental issues. The effects of exercise on the brain have been approved by scientists all around the world in recent years. Lastly, it will also make people more ambitious, making them struggle and fight to achieve specific goals and trophies. This would lead them to be more goal-oriented, diligent, and subsequently prosperous compared to other children. However, doing physical activities in leisure time could be fun and healthy, as well as reducing the risk of getting injured compared to following a sport strictly. Firstly, playing sports in the free time with friends could be fun. A lack of competition between individuals would result in a happy and thriving environment, which could also strengthen the relationship between them. Secondly, playing sports regularly, similar to training hard, might help you keep fit and get into shape. This may increase their life expectancy, which is probably the prior goal of habitual sportsmen. Finally, engaging muscles with tough practices may lead to harm to different parts of the body, even if the training is controlled. For example, it is normal for professional football players to get injured at least once during their careers, which sometimes may lead to life-long issues. In conclusion, although I recognize the people who argue that taking sports seriously is a positive development, I believe that following regular exercise would be more advantageous.