Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

No longer are old pensioners taken care of by their family members, instead, they are sent to nursing or caring homes. Even though it facilitates the lives of both young and older generations, its ethical unacceptability is still a drawback. On the one hand, nursing facilities alleviate the conditions of both generations. Not only can children maintain the freedom and independence to do other activities, but elderly people can also spend the rest of life in a circle of like-minded adults by being attentively assisted by nurses. Moreover, nursing homes can provide full-time care for pensioners that their offspring may not be able to afford by being out at work. For example, statistics provided by the Worldwide Family Association show that 67% of elderly parents at caring institutions find these places the most suitable and safe. On the other hand, leaving parents, when they become weak and incapable of accomplishing duties, is considered to be immoral. Having been brought up by them, they may jeopardise their parents to the mental and emotional ailments such as the feeling of rejection and loneliness, becoming susceptible to other diseases. Furthermore, youngsters set a bad example to their own kids, as they may repeat this when they become old themselves. For instance, workers at the institutions claim that pensioners have a tendency to catch various detrimental illnesses 78% more than those who are in the surrounding of loved ones. In conclusion, the elder individuals aren't looked after any more by their own families. Although both generations have benefits in their lifetime, it is claimed as an immoral act by humanity.