n the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Historically, animals were exploited by human as the source of food, production of clothing, and experiment in medicine. While many hope that modern technology and science can help to curtail using animals for these purposes, others are dubious about diminishing dependency on animals. I believe that the modern world decreased the need for animals for clothing and medicine, however, the reliance on them for protein has been on the rise. Firstly, human as an omnivorous creature has used animal’s meat for a long time. The dependency on the animal proteins has risen not only because of the increase in the human population but also due to the increase in welfare, which augmented the demand of the modern world for animal foodstuff. For instance, it is estimated that the average consumption of meat by each person has increased by 25 grams per months during the last century globally. Modern scientific methods to produce artificial meat is still on its trial periods and will not diminish animal meat usage in near future. Secondly, the traditional usage of animals as the source of clothing has been replaced by the production of synthetic fibres. Modern technology achieved in decreasing dependency on animal resources, as the result, animal exploitation in this area has diminished considerably. Finally, strict rules have been made for using animal models in research and medical experiments. Nowadays, if animal models are required for medical experiments, the legitimacy of this act should be approved by ethical reviews. For example, for the production of certain vaccines use of experimental animals is inevitable, however, this exploitation has strictly limited by Helsinki rules to minimize animal’s suffering. So, modern science has limited usage of animals for medical purposes. In summary, I personally believe that the modern world has achieved to diminish animal exploitation for clothing and medical purposes although the use of animal protein as a source of food is on the rise. I hope that science can assist to decrease dependency on animal protein by replacing it with the combination of bioengineering proteins and plant-derived proteins in future, which results in further diminish in animal exploitation for food purposes.