Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In our modern time, a growing number of individuals tend to develop their own businesses, rather than being employed in other companies. In my opinion, there are two major reasons for this matter. I am also convinced that there might be some negatives with regard to being self-employed. It is my view, that these days that we are provided with many technological developments, the Internet provides a global marketplace which makes it much easier to set up a company and this can be reasonable enough for people to have an intention to develop their businesses. Furthermore, self-employment offers greater freedom than working for a company. For instance, self-employed people do not have to wake up early in the morning to go to their offices, moreover, they are free to take a rest every time they want and they are obliged to do some particular jobs. I further believe that there are some risks in starting a new business. Firstly, since several businesses fail to make profits and find it significantly difficult to manage their businesses, therefore, self-employed people may face financial difficulties to make a successful business. Moreover, there is less stability in self-employment and it may lack many benefits such as pension, sick pay and holiday pay. In addition, self-employment involves hard work, long hours and total responsibility. In conclusion, advancement in technology makes setting up businesses more effortless and some further benefits of being self-employed stimulate people to develop their own businesses. From my perspective, some economic risks and less stability of self-employment could be the negatives of this phenomenon.