In some countries, renting homes is preferred to buying homes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home.

These days, if a person is older, getting married, starting a new career or has children, homeownership seems like the obvious option. It is a significant part of adulthood which is typically faced, regardless if the person feels ready for the adversities of homeownership. Hence, some people prefer to rent a home rather than owning one out of practicality. This means that a huge investment is not required as a requisite payment, and merely a fixed rental fee is collected each month. Moreover, renting a home can be appealing since appliance maintenance and house repairs are not burdensome, because it is the landlord's responsibility. In short, if anything gets broken, the renter has to call the landlord to fix it. Additionally, unlike buying a home, renting provides a person more freedom to move whenever the lease is up, or when certain circumstances require him to. For instance, if someone gets a job offer across the country, he can do it easier within a short time frame. Conversely, for a homeowner, a considerable amount of effort is needed prior to moving, aside from the average number of days a home spends on the market from the time it is listed. Turning to the other side, renting a house also carries some disadvantages, such as maintenance issues, rental agreement renewal difficulty and numerous restrictions imposed by the owner. Firstly, a leaseholder might struggle to get repairs accomplished in a timely manner. Even more, there is no guarantee that a rental agreement will be renewed, which can result in unplanned relocation and unexpected expenses. Lastly, renters cannot always personalize their space the way they want to, and they also cannot renovate and change the layout, like someone could do if he were the owner. To illustrate, some landlords will not allow repainting and redecorating the walls due to possible holes in the walls, or because they just do not appreciate the idea of it. In conclusion, renting can be enormously convenient financially and practically. Nonetheless, an individual should be capable enough to compromise to any discomfort and difficulty in dealing with a home which they do not personally own. Therefore, I believe that before buying or renting a home, it is utmost significant to consider factors such as finances, lifestyle and work location.