In some countries, renting homes is preferred to buying homes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home.

These days, if a person is older, getting married, establishing a new career or has children, homeownership seems like the obvious option. It is a significant part of adulthood which a person typically faced, regardless if he feels unready for the adversities of homeownership. Hence, some people prefer renting a home rather than owning one, out of practicality. This means a substantial investment is not required as a requisite payment, and merely a fixed rental fee is collected each month. Moreover, leasing a house can be appealing since appliance maintenance and interior repairs are unburdensome because it is the landlord's responsibility. Briefly, if anything gets broken, the renter has to call the landlord to fix it. Additionally, unlike buying a home, renting provides a person more freedom to move whenever the lease is up, or when certain circumstances require him to. For instance, if someone gets a job offer across the country, he can do it easier within a short time frame. Conversely, for a homeowner, aside from the average number of days a property spends on the market from the time it is listed, a considerable amount of effort is also needed prior to moving. Turning to the other side, renting a house also carries some disadvantages, like maintenance issues, rental agreement renewal difficulty and numerous restrictions imposed by the owner. To begin with, a leaseholder might struggle to get repairs accomplished in a timely manner. Even more, there is no guarantee that a rental agreement will be renewed, which can result in unplanned relocation and unexpected expenses. Lastly, renters cannot always personalize, renovate and change the layout of their space the way they want to and like someone does if he were the owner. To illustrate, some landlords will not allow repainting and redecorating the walls; this is due to possible structural damages. In conclusion, renting can be enormously convenient financially and practically. Nonetheless, an individual should be capable enough to compromise to any discomfort and difficulty in dealing with a house which they do not personally own. Therefore, I believe that before buying or leasing a home, it is utmost significant to consider factors like finances, lifestyle and work location.