In the past people wore their traditional clothes and followed their culture. These days most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar to one another. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, people are more likely to wear identical attires instead of wearing their traditional clothes. This change has been considered as a negative development because people will lose their cultural identity and their cultural traditions. Avoiding to wear national clothes would lead to creating a noticeable social gab. If People started to forget their local roots and heritages, they would lose their cultural identity. Without traditional apparels, the process of instilling the love of country in citizens’ hearts has become more challenging because they lost the sense of cultural knowledge. A study made by Oxford University found that 87% of people who wear only fashionable styles, don’t have any information about their culture and history. Although wearing national clothes is not part of the fashion trends, they still considered a bridge that connects people with their heritage. Another negative development of this trend, young adults forget the authentic values and beliefs behind their cultural clothes. This trend might push them to isolate themselves from their communities because they don’t have any clear idea about the type of relations that connect them to their societies. Therefore, it shakes the societies’ infrastructures and makes individuals less responsible for their countries. The Sunday Times recently reported that only 15% of youngers know the type of clothes they should wear whenever their countries celebrate national days. In conclusion, the majority of people are wearing clothes that are similar to others’ clothes; as a result, they are less likely to have attires related to their culture. This trend would certainly negatively affect their national identities and values, which might isolate them from their societies.