There are several advantages to hosting an international sporting event. There are disadvantages too. Discuss both views and state your opinion

Organizing a global sporting event, such as Olympics and Seagames in Vietnam, is a great opportunity for the hosting country, Although this provides the event organizer with many benefits, there are several drawbacks. I will discuss the pros and cons, and provide my perspective later. To begin with, being a host of an international sporting event is advantageous for bolstering both the economy and tourism. First, it is undeniable that countries, where the incident happens, receive a major economic boost. For example, the 2012 Olympic increased China's economic level by nearly $100 billion dollars. Second, tourism is the most beneficial industry. Research suggests that more than 30 per cent of visitors who came to Vietnam for Sea Games in 2002 returned to Vietnam for tourism in 2003. Obviously, these tourists would have not known of Vietnam if there was no Sea Games. Despite many advantages, a global sport tournament can cause problems to the organizer. First, pollution caused by visitors is a serious issue. For instance, during the World Cup in 2018, the pollution measurement in Paris, where France organized numerous soccer matches, reached an all-time high due to unprecedented increases in the garbage and heavy traffic jams. Second, the spread of disease is potentially problematic. If there is an ongoing pandemic, the host country will be highly vulnerable to become the pandemic centre of the world which is detrimental to economic growth. Hosting an international badminton tournament amid COVID 19 in 2019 is a lesson learned for England. In spite of the warning from WHO, England did not halt the championship, and the government decided to continue welcoming visitors from all over the world which could carry COVID 19. As a result, there was a surge in COVID 19 cases which made the nation to be closed. In conclusion, hosting a universal sporting competition can be both advantageous and disadvantageous. Having said that, the benefits of organizing such a global event outweigh the downfalls because of enormous economic growth afterwards.