Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has been advanced like never before in this era. Proving to be a bane, technology and automation have reduced the manual labour, resulted in the reduction of overheads and also aided in saving time. Although there is a reduction in the labour hours, in my opinion, the working jours should not be reduced. In this essay, I shall discuss the reasons for the same to support my views. Technology and automation have reduced manual labour. The time saved due to this can be utilised for more production and hence increase in the product-output and profit margin. It can be also argued that the balance time left can be used by the organisation by employing their labour force expansion into different sectors of the market and achieve a competitive edge. However, although a lot of functions and activities are automated, certain after-processing work requires manual work. For instance, data recording can be done by the computer, but storing the files and printing the reports require human force. Hence 100% automation can never be gained by the use of technology. It was rightly stated in the Business magazine last week that " Technology is a brainchild of human inventions". Those who argue that working hours should be reduced due to the invention of technology and automation holds a different view. One of the reason is that the reduced hours should be rewarded to the labour force for their leisure. Then there are concerns about the hard work they have put in for so many years to be taken into consideration. Although there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, in conclusion, there should be no reduction in working hours due to the introduction of technology and automation. Instead, in my opinion, the balance hours should be used to increase the scale of production, expansion and increase profit margins as discussed above. Moreover, I would strongly recommend the organisations to draft their policies accordingly.