In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

Whilst in numerous nations, senior school education curriculum includes general knowledge of many subjects, in others, children are taught a few subjects suitable and necessary for the specific profession they want to pursue. I am of the opinion that secondary schools should cover a wide spectrum of subjects and I intend to justify this in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, students in senior schools are usually in the range of 10-16 years and they do not have the capabilities to take choose specific subjects. Furthermore, they are in their gullible stage and gets influenced easily with any kind of advice. Moreover, their opinions and decisions tend to change frequently. Hence, the range of subjects should not be restricted otherwise, they will have to regret about their selection of career in the latter half of their life. To exemplify, studies show that approximately 30% of secondary school's pupils change their stream within a year of commencing the classes due to change in their interest. In addition to that, university education is more than enough for any kind of profession. Nowadays, many professional courses options are available after higher education, which are specifically designed to impart highly specific knowledge and skills to the students. For instance, as per the recent survey, there are more than 500 various professional degrees and diplomas options available all over the world. To conclude, secondary schools should focus on the wide spectrum of subjects instead of few, as students in that age group do not have the capabilities to make firm decisions regarding choices of a profession they want to pursue. Moreover, university education is more than enough for any kind of specific training a student wants to pursue.