In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do thier shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

For the last time, customers started to prefer to go shopping in large shopping centres or shopping malls to small local shops, hence, many of them have closed. Is seems like a negative development owing to the increase in unemployed people and inconvenience to go to a shopping place. To begin, there are many benefits to this development to customers. The most significant benefit is that they can buy items at a cheaper rate. This is because there are many shops in the mall and people can buy where they get the best deal. Another advantage is that it saves people’s valuable time as they do not have to go to multiple shops to buy different items, which is the case with small shops. To illustrate, most people in Mumbai prefer to shop for clothes, grocery items or electronics in shopping malls as they have a lot of options to choose from, and they also get huge discount on many items. However, there is a high likelihood of a citizen's poverty. In other words, the closing of small shops would lead to firing many employees. Besides, if there are not enough vacant positions, those individuals would have a high risk to become brokes. For example, in India, statistic shows that after the small local business closed, more than half of those fired people faced poverty. Another matter is that local shops locate fairly close to everyone's home,h however, large shopping centres demand more space, thus, usually located in a city centre that might be inconvenient for individuals such as the old or people without a car. This can be seen in Bulgaria, people without a car usually have to call a taxi or use public transport due to the cancellation of all local stores. In conclusion, during the last decades,many local stores have closed owing to customers who go to shopping in large shops. It appears as a negative development due to the vast majority left without a job and troubles for people to arrive at big shopping centres.