Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, online shopping became extremely popular and as a result, it's treated as a disruptive change of the 21st century. While some people believe that it inherited fraud from the internet, many believe its benefits outweigh their demerits. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and elucidate the reasons for my support for the latter view. The most significant disadvantage of online shopping is its authenticity. Since the customer doesn’t really see or feel the product, they could be duped on its quality or quantity. For instance, in India, many frauds were reported, wherein the client ordered for a mobile phone and received mortar brick instead. These kinds of unhealthy practices create fear in the minds of online customers. Furthermore, if the client wants to buy a product online in case of emergency, he needs to wait for some time before he receives it in hand. Also, if there are deviations, he needs to wait for more period to get it replaced as well. Looking at the positives, one of the major advantages of online shopping is its convenience. Most people these days have hectic schedules, and they hardly get time to get products in the store. For them, this option is quite attractive, they can search for eclectic products and can get them delivered at the comfort of their home. Also, customers could spend quality time with their families. To illustrate, a recent study conducted by an online magazine shows that 90% of the upper and middle-class society in India is more willing to exercise online options rather than visiting a shop and stay in long queues. Furthermore, people have the option to verify the price online and some online sites even provide price match for up to 30 days, which indeed guarantees cost-effective catch to the consumer. To sum up, though online frauds pose as the biggest drawback for internet shopping, especially for naive users. However, the convenience and price guarantee offered by online stores definitely outweigh the disadvantages.