Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give you own opinion.

Technology had changed how people experience movies, providing homely options with streaming and portable devices to watch them. While some people believe that this is way more comfortable, others claim that one still has to go to the cinema to enjoy it in actuality. In my perspective, I tend to agree with the former view. For one, cinemas are not always available in every city. Watching films on phones and tablets might be the only option for people living far from big cities and downtown. Therefore, for example, without all the expenses of displacement and tickets for each movie, streaming can be more affordable and comfortable for them, because it only demands Internet access from anywhere and subscription to enjoy their catalogue limitlessly. However, on the other hand, going to the movies is a ritual and a social one. Gather with friends and family to go to the cinema makes this day an event, and it is uniquely engaging to share the same experience at the same time. For instance, going to watch Black Panther in the last years became a historic moment for the black community, since it was a rare moment that a blockbuster was deeply representative and respectful to their daily struggle. In my opinion, although there is no comparison to be present, streamers such as Netflix allowed more people to watch films and series as a habit, a way to expand their references and consume art and culture intensive and extensively. Moreover, a monthly subscription is cheaper than a single ticket and more people in the same house can profit from this entertainment every day. In conclusion, some spectators can choose to go to the cinema or watch from home nowadays. Nevertheless, not everyone can afford all options, and this is why to sign a streaming service is more inclusive and accessible for the majority.