Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is claimed that now the younger generation prefers using gadgets the whole of their spare time instead of other activities that were common among children before the appearance of gadgets. From my point of view, the tendency of using smartphones from birth is depressing, it badly affects the development of a child. Hence, I believe it has more negative consequences than positive. In fact, the initial goal of this invention was to make our lives better and more convenient. However, now this influences people in a bad way, especially children. First of all, using smartphones for a long time hurts our health. For instance, this causes eye and back problems, but the scariest thing is it influences our brains. There are many cases in the world when people struggle with mental problems as well as physical. Secondly, using it kids do not interact with the social environment in a sufficient way. This can lead to undeveloped communication and other important skills for life. Such things usually form in childhood and then in adulthood, they help build strong relationships in personal life and work as well. Hence, those who miss this important step will lose a huge number of opportunities in the future. In conclusion, I would like to say that we have to admit the fact that gadgets can bring us not only opportunities but problems too. They cause many diseases which are linked not only with our physical state but psychologically too. It is really important to maintain the mental stability of youth. Moreover, it does not allow them to develop in society as a person.