Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying that the issue of whether we should keep up with the past while experiencing the present events is certainly a contentious one. While there are arguments in favour of both, in this essay I will argue that learning about our history is completely essential for mankind. There is a deluge of reasons to support my stance. Firstly, the past can be a great source of learning. In essence, the previous work can lay the foundation for the current and future roadmap. For example, scientists can refer to the previous research to get familiarised about what methods worked and what did not, thereby planning their future approach accordingly. Secondly, knowing history would enable the current generation to respect and acknowledge past events. For example, if the young school students do not know about Australian history, they would not appreciate the importance of national events like the Australia day and the ANZAC day. Certainly, I recognise that it gets difficult to remember past events when life accelerates at a high rate. Besides, there are also people who claim that the past has no relevance in the present or the future. Nevertheless, it can not be denied that the progress in the present and future can only be made based on the learnings that are derived from the past. In conclusion, despite the fact that the historical events may not have similarities to the resent times, it is still important to keep track of what has happened earlier. Therefore, I believe that the young generation must constantly be reminded and educated about the previous historical events so that they are remembered, learned and preserved.