Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Presently, a high average working hour is considered an important factor in enhancing the economic development of many nations, which also causes detrimental social repercussions. In my perspective, I firmly concur with this view because I recognize several advantages and drawbacks of working for a longer time, which impact both the economy and social aspects of those countries. In terms of the country's economy, when people devote more time to work that could lay the foundation for various financial advancements in the long term. More working time could increase productivity and the volume of produced products, which is synonymous with an improvement in national GDP, allowing countries to foster their financial status. Take Japan as a potential example of this, Japanese workers spend more time at work than the world’s average working time, directly influencing the effectiveness and overall profits of their own country. Therefore, Japan is known as a country with a strong financial status compared to others in the world due to the consistent contribution of Japan’s hard-working labor force. Regarding society, the issues related to citizens’ health and unbalanced lives are not disregarded. In some countries where workers devoting more time to complete their work may take a heavy toll on labor health due to the heavy workload and working pressure that people have suffered from for a long span of time. As a result, the detrimental phenomena, namely having a sense of daunting, fatigue, and lack of motivation for work, have become ubiquitous in those nations. In addition, the possibility of achieving work -life balance status is more challenging when workers may have limited quality time for their beloved relationships, spelling trouble for strengthening family bonds and improving the sense of community in society. In conclusion, I hold a supportive view that having longer working time is attributed to a nation’s economic success which may implicate some drawbacks in terms of sociable aspects such as people’s health and lifestyle.