Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

There is no doubt that studying an overseas language plays a vital role in today's world. However, while some believe that this should be learned mainly either to travel or work in a distant country, I would agree with those who argue that knowing international languages helps someone in many of the paths in one's life, not just for travel and work alone. Firstly, considering why people gain knowledge in an external language is mainly for the sake of travelling or working abroad. This is because individuals who possess this skill have wider job opportunities abroad to service or produce globally. For instance, in MNC's where the Japanese projects are being done, there will be a high demand for employees to be recruited to help their project become successful and have smooth communication. In contrast, not having this could narrow down the possibility of attaining a high-level job and lead to low career growth. However, there are many reasons people acquire far-off language other than merely for travelling or working abroad. With the vast improvement in internet facilities, one can gain a well-respected job even within one's home country without needing to travel. For example, these days, translators, interpreters positions are available within their place. Even many online jobs, remote working jobs can be done individually as a free-lancer with the help of technology. Furthermore, Bilingual and Multilingual people are smarter than monolinguals as it strengthens their brain connections to do a high-level activity. As a result of this, they would be able to work much faster; in turn, it makes them smarter and sharper. To support this, many schools these days offer additional language for their students to study in order to make them smarter and citizens with global awareness. Additionally, research has demonstrated that learning a foreign language delays the onset of any psychological and mental illness from arising and can also help manage such problems as a way of treatment. Another positive aspect of having learned an international language is that global awareness among the learners. As culture and language are intrinsically linked, other nations' cultures can be relatively easily achieved. This can be done through by enjoying their art, music and literature. In conclusion, although gaining an international language plays an important role in travelling or working abroad, it does not stop there. Instead, it also has many other merits discussed above by working in their home country, being globally aware, and having a sound mind.