Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

More and more people live in cities today than at any point in the past and this trend will likely continue in the future. This essay is going to discuss the problems which are associated with this phenomenon and definitely governments should take measures to make living outside of cities more attractive. There is a wide range of drawbacks linked with the rise of modern cities but one of the most obvious issues is related to population density. The large number of people crammed into a relatively small area has caused expensive housing, increased traffic and severe pollution. For example, apartment prices in mega-cities like Tokyo and New York have soared to the point where only the wealthiest inhabitants can afford decent living standards. Regardless of financial status, all city dwellers have to deal with more and more traffic jams as the population increases while the area of cities remains fixed. Finally, all these people living and travelling in one place puts a tremendous strain on the environment and some cities, like Beijing in China, have become dangerously polluted. In my opinion, governments have a duty to encourage citizens to move to more rural areas. If cities continue to expand unabated then the above problems will only get worse. In order to prevent this from happening, the government can give tax breaks to companies that choose to locate offices and production facilities outside the city. This will provide more jobs for people who are willing to live in the countryside. Moreover, governments should try to provide more facilities to rural areas as big cities have which are fascinating people to migrate to mega towns such as best education for children, hospital, public transport and much more. In conclusion, the concerns related to overcrowding in cities can and should be somewhat countered by governments incentivising living in rural areas. If this is done then we may still face problems related to cities in the future, but at least they will not be as serious