Even after the Covid-19 pandemic is over, some companies are thinking of using a hybrid approach when it comes to working from home and on-site. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working on-site?

Though the world has successfully survived a disastrous phase of COVID-19, some firms have a viewpoint of adopting a mixture of remote and on-site work instead of the traditional style. Not only does the in-office work assist employers in supervising their daily agenda adequately, but it is also beneficial for employees to adopt a disciplined lifestyle. However, such an approach may increase the daily bearable cost of businesses, and commuting and rotational transfers will be a burden for employees. To begin with, there are numerous benefits of in-company working for both company and workers. Foremost, for supervisors, it is easy to have a watchdog on the day-to-day working of reportees. This is because leaders do not need to send emails or wait for video conferencing to define the new policies; instead, they can just call on the workers and delegate the tasks. To exemplify, a painstaking survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March 2022 elucidated that 65% of directors of firms were keenly interested in on-site working style since it helped them to supervise the routine working of staff for better productivity. In addition, this approach can ease working professionals with a punctual life as they have to get ready for the office every day and follow a strict schedule to be on time. Owing to this, they try to make themselves fit to match up with the office timings. Nevertheless, all the above-mentioned benefits are not available if a flexible work approach is adopted. On the contrary, the demerits of such a phenomenon can never be overlooked. Primarily, companies have to spend a huge sum to bear the daily expenses of the office. For instance, as per the annual reports, big giants like Apple and Amazon spent 15% of their budget on stationary, travelling allowances, electricity and meeting arrangements last year to run their offices daily. Hence, it may be a costly affair for employers. Identically, workers of multinational firms have to face tenure transfer and commute expenses if branch offices are at far distant places. Moreover, the larger the distance between offices and employees’ homes, the bigger the chances of a lack of energy. To conclude, it is unequivocal that although working on-site has both merits and demerits, business houses should select the approach according to their industrial set-up.