Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, technology has been developing fastly, so people in various regions have access to a range of foodstuffs, which are generated from far farmlands and are transported by vehicles; however, a group of populations think that it is better that people use just their own foods that are produced by a local farmer to keep the environment and the economy. While using local ingredients has several demerits, I still believe that cannot overshadow the benefits. On the one hand, the merits of using local foods are varied. Firstly, when people use the foodstuff that is produced in local agriculture, they do not pay the extra money which is spent on transportation; besides, the local farmer can sell all the items; in fact, this is a beneficial situation for not only clients but also framers and has a positive effect on the economy. Secondly, if the number of transportations that carry foods from other areas is reduced, the amount of air pollution the result of the gas that is emitted from the transport system declines and has a good impact on the environment. On the other hand, using local meals has various drawbacks. On the one side, all countries have several products inasmuch as their climate is really cold or very hot; consequently, the community of these countries cannot use a range of the vitamins that the body needs which impacts their health. On the other side, the exporting of agricultural elements to other districts has a lot of influence on the economy of the farmlands that are sent things; therefore, when people from other regions do not buy their goods, a number of foods will be spoiled, and there lose their income. To conclude, the fact that using local foods has some good points for the economy of the people and the environment; nevertheless, they cannot eclipse the bad points because healthy and unspoiling agricultural staff are really crucial.