You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: These days in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, there has been a steady decline in many countries in the number of people who are interested in the teaching profession. There are various reasons that contribute to this trend, low salaries and workload issues are the most common of them. However, there are some solutions which can be implemented to attract more people to pursue the teaching profession. Firstly, the main cause of the problem is the wages; which are quite low as compared to other professions. Teacher's pay has not kept the pace that of other jobs, such as engineering or medicine. To illustrate, according to a survey in the UK, five years of experienced teacher's salary is four times lesser than an engineer with the same amount of experience. To overcome, such issue government should significantly raise the pay of teachers, to attract more people into the profession. Secondly, more number of teachers are facing issues related to the amount of work they have been given. Mostly teachers are overloaded with the paperwork, hence they are stressed and fail to balance their work and personal life, consequently start losing interest in their job. The solution to this is to cut teacher's hours and hire more teaching assistants, so the amount of task can be shared. In a nutshell, teaching has become a less popular line of work due to the wages and working hours issues. Such issues should be taken care as soon as possible in order to attract more talented young people to the teaching career so that they can shape the future of a country.